The Greatest “Modern Era” NBL Single Season Performances

The Greatest “Modern Era” NBL Single Season Performances

Before the 2009-10 season, the NBL decided to move in line with FIBA and shorten the playing length of games from 48 to 40 minutes per game.


This move has made the game a much more attractive product to families and TV stations but ultimately has changed the landscape of the league’s all-time single game performances with current NBL stars having at least eight minutes less than their predecessors in the 1980’s, 1990’s and 2000’s.


This change in landscape makes comparing today’s NBL achievements with those of yesteryear almost unachievable. Will anyone be able to match Andrew Gaze’s 18,908 total points or Al Green’s 71-point game with two fewer minutes each quarter… unlikely.


In Aussie Hoopla’s stats section, we’ve listed every statistic tallied from any player who ever took the court. But here, we’ve separated NBL records into two categories: the 48-minute “Classic” Era, and the 40 minute “Modern” Era.


Everything before the 2009-10 season will be Classic, after, Modern. This three-part series will look at the Modern Era single-game, season and career records.


(* – most recent season)


Modern Era Single Season Average Records



23.2 – Kirk Penney, New Zealand (2009-10)

23.1* – Bryce Cotton, Perth (2016-17)

23.0 – Jerome Randle, Adelaide (2015-16)

22.8 – Chris Goulding, Melbourne (2013-14)

22.1* – Casper Ware, Melbourne (2016-17)

21.9 – Sam Young, Sydney (2013-14)

21.3* – Jerome Randle, Adelaide (2016-17)

21.2 – James Ennis, Perth (2013-14)

21.1 – Josh Childress, Sydney (2014-15)

21.1 – Rotnei Clarke, Illawarra (2013-14)


The importance of a scoring point guard is represented by this list, as three of the top seven entrants are from the past season and are all point guards.  Kirk Penney’s 2009-10 campaign was a shooting performance, with a 49-point outing against Adelaide on 16/23 shooting.  Not only did Penney lead the league in scoring, but he was also top 15 in assists and was named to the All-NBL First Team.



10.7 – Julian Khazzouh, Sydney (2011-12)

10.0 – Julian Khazzouh, Sydney (2010-11)

9.8 – Mike Dunigan, Perth (2012-13)

9.3 – Daniel Johnson, Adelaide (2015-16)

9.2* – Josh Boone, Melbourne (2016-17)

9.2 – Josh Childress, Sydney (2014-15)

9.0 – Jacob Holmes, Townsville (2011-12)

9.0 – Omar Samhan, Townsville (2015-16)

8.6 – AJ Ogilvy, Sydney (2013-14)

8.6 – Diamon Simpson, Adelaide (2011-12)


Only one Modern Era NBL player has broken the double-digit rebounding number in a season, with Julian Khazzouh notching it in back to back seasons.  Dunigan only played four games for the Wildcats as an injury replacement for Matthew Knight but performed well.  Melbourne United fans should be excited to see Josh Boone back for 2017-18 as last season he was the best rebounder in the league.



6.8 – Cedric Jackson, New Zealand (2012-13)

6.5 – Cedric Jackson, New Zealand (2011-12)

6.3 – Cedric Jackson, New Zealand (2015-16)

6.2 – Myron Allen, Melbourne (2011-12)

6.1 – Corey Williams, Melbourne (2010-11)

6.0 – Cedric Jackson, New Zealand (2014-15)

5.9 – Julius Hodge, Melbourne (2009-10)

5.8 – Jonny Flynn, Melbourne (2012-13)

5.5* – Ben Woodside, New Zealand (2016-17)

5.4* – Cedric Jackson, Melbourne (2016-17)


One man dominated the single-game record list, and the same man dominates the single-season record list: Cedric Jackson.  His exit from the league last season may have been less than graceful, but Jackson’s performance as a floor general is second to none.  All five of his NBL seasons are on this list, including the top three.  It’s interesting to see that all ten entries on this list are from either New Zealand or Melbourne, shedding light on how both teams like to use the ball.



2.8 – Cedric Jackson, New Zealand (2012-13)

2.5 – Damian Martin, Perth (2014-15)

2.4 – Kevin Braswell, Melbourne (2012-13)

2.4 – Damian Martin, Perth (2010-11)

2.3 – Kevin Braswell, New Zealand (2009-10)

2.3 – Cedric Jackson, New Zealand (2011-12)

2.2 – Cedric Jackson, New Zealand (2014-15)

2.2 – Damian Martin, Perth (2013-14)

2.0 – Damian Martin, Perth (2011-12)

1.9* – Kevin Lisch, Sydney (2016-17)


Another category where Cedric Jackson is well represented, but it’s Damian Martin who takes the prize here.  Four times the Wildcats’ captain is featured here, and emphasizes his tenacious approach to defense.



2.3 – AJ Ogilvy, Sydney (2013-14)

2.1 – Josh Childress, Sydney (2014-15)

2.1 – Julian Khazzouh, Sydney (2011-12)

2.0 – Mickell Gladness (Townsville (2014-15)

2.0 – Ater Majok, Perth (2010-11)

1.9 – Adam Ballinger, Adelaide (2010-11)

1.8 – Mike Dunigan, Perth (2012-13)

1.8 – Ekene Ibekwe, New Zealand (2014-15)

1.8 – Julian Khazzouh, Sydney (2010-11)

1.8 – Julian Khazzouh, Sydney (2015-16)


Josh Childress’ 2014-15 season is arguably one of the best seasons in Modern Era NBL history.  In his debut year with the Kings, the eight-year NBA veteran recorded the ninth-best scoring season, sixth best in rebounds and second in rejections.  Julian Khazzouh has the most recorded seasons with three, showing that he is not only a great big man scorer but a quality defender as well.



5.7 – Corey Williams, Melbourne (2010-11)

4.6 – Julius Hodge, Melbourne (2009-10)

4.4 – Myron Allen, Melbourne (2011-12)

4.1 – Jonny Flynn, Melbourne (2012-13)

4.0* – Kevin Dillard, New Zealand (2016-17)

3.7 – Kevin Braswell, New Zealand (2010-11)

3.7* – Jerome Randle, Adelaide (2016-17)

3.5 – Corey Williams, Townsville (2009-10)

3.3 – Cedric Jackson, New Zealand (2014-15)

3.3 – Sam Young, Sydney (2013-14)


Corey Williams’ 2010-11 season was an interesting one.  He was awarded an All-NBL Third Team selection for averages of 17 points, seven rebounds and 6.1 assists, enough helpers for best in the competition.  Unfortunately, 2010-11 was far and away the most turnovers recorded by a player in the Modern Era.  In 17 of his 23 games played, Homicide recorded five or more turnovers, and nearly a third of his games were seven or more.

Author: Kyle Abbott (85 Posts)

Kyle has barracked for the North Melbourne Giants, Victoria Titans, Victoria Giants and the South Dragons. He's hoping the Melbourne United don't fold like the rest of them